PRESENCE = FREEDOM

“Freedom is not given to us by anyone; we have to cultivate it ourselves. It is a daily practice…
No one can prevent you from being aware of each step you take or each breath in and breath out.” –Thich Nhat Hanh

I love this quote. It reminds me that being present offers a kind of freedom that can’t be taken away and that freedom can only be experienced through presence. For me, being present is something I’ve had to learn. Being present is a daily practice, one that takes conscious effort on my part. Quite frankly some days I’m tuned in, fully engaged and present. Then of course, there are days that I fall short. However, even when I fall short, part of me is aware of the fact that I’m not as engaged as I could be or that on some subconscious level I’m choosing to tune out.

I suppose that’s the beauty of walking a spiritual path so to speak; there is an innate desire to be conscious, present, aware and open to everyone and everything. From the strangers we pass on the street, to exchanges with our neighbors, colleagues or friends, to intimate encounters with our loved ones; each individual is here to teach us something about being present.

Even amid the chaos and the noise of the city, the sound of buses and trains, sirens blaring, music booming from cars driving by- there is something to be learned. And when life becomes overwhelming, we lose someone we love or uncertainty gets the best of us; every challenge offers a lesson if we’re open to it.

Then there is nature, the omnipresent force that surrounds us- our constant Radiant Reminder of Divine Presence, Grace and Unconditional Love. From the sweet sound of birds chirping in the trees, to the warmth of the sun as it penetrates the skin, to the blue skies and cool summer nights where the moon and the stars shine brightly in the heavens above- it’s ALL here to teach us something. All we have to do is be present.

Wishing you a very Happy Friday!

With Love and Light,
Namaste

Alana

Leave a Reply

