FINDING THE COURAGE TO BE VULNERABLE

“Vulnerability is our most accurate measure of courage.” Brene Brown

In my experience, there are two things that happen when I put vulnerability into action. First, the experience of vulnerability as my thoughts, i.e., “What will she think when I tell her how I really feel… What will she do if I tell her the truth…”

Then there is the physical response where my palms actually start to sweat and anxiety sets in.
In these moments when I need to muster up the courage to express what I’m feeling without guilt or shame, my throat usually feels constricted and my heart feels like it’s about to implode.

Yep, being vulnerable isn’t easy but not allowing myself to be vulnerable- that’s downright painful.
I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, whenever we’re not in alignment with who we are and with what we feel is in our heart, it’s self-betrayal of the highest degree.

How Do We Begin to Find the Courage to be Vulnerable

1. Tell on Ourselves

Speaking our truth is empowering. When we speak our truth, we surrender the need for perfection and give ourselves permission to be exactly who we are without fear of judgment.Talk about a release of guilt and shame.

2. Own Our Stuff

One of the most important things we can do is to stop pointing the finger and placing the blame. Instead, we need to own our stuff by taking responsibility for our thoughts, feelings, actions and deeds.

3. Begin to See Vulnerability as a Strength

The moment we decide to see vulnerability as a strength, rather than a weakness- two things happen: We begin to release the guilt and shame that keeps us feeling small and we inspire others to live courageously and in the words of Brene Brown, “Dare Greatly”.

How can you begin to shift the notion that vulnerability is a weakness and begin to see vulnerability as one of your greatest strengths?

As always, I would love to hear from you. Feel free to email me, or leave a comment or question below.

With Love & Light,
Namaste
Alana

4 thoughts on “FINDING THE COURAGE TO BE VULNERABLE

  1. You hit the nail on the head Bill! I agree that the only way we can truly comprehend our own strength is by accepting our weaknesses. And the only way we can accept our weaknesses is by being courageous enough to show up and be exactly who we are. Thank you for sharing my friend. Sending you lots of love. Namaste ~Alana

  2. One of the toughest lessons is understanding that the only way you can be strong is to accept your weakness. Carrying armor is a debilitating exercise. It’s particularly hard when you aren’t feeling strong. I’ve found that none of my friends can accept that I’m no longer strong all the time. As a result, I have to find what inner reserves I have, since others demand the Strong Bill always show up.

  3. Hi Love,

    You’re welcome and I agree, I absolutely love her message as well. Hope all is well with you! Sending you a ton of love!!!

    Namaste
    xo

  4. Thank you soooo much for introducing me to Dr. Brene Brown. I am now officially obsessed with her work and everything she has to say. 🙂 xoxoxo. hope all is well!

Leave a Reply

