Letting Go

In my last post I talked about having the “tough conversations”. Although I had written that piece because I believe it’s a topic relevant to so many of us, it turns out that piece was written especially for me. You see, deep down I knew it was time to have a “tough conversation” with someone I have tremendous love and respect for. Needless to say, in order to let go of many things, including emotional baggage I have been harboring for years- I knew there were certain issues we had to address. So I gathered the courage to sit this person down to finally have a heart to heart.

I’d like to report there was no magical outcome or ending to this conversation. However, what did occur was much greater than I could have imagined. Let’s just call it a miracle! Not only were we able to openly communicate how we both felt, we were able to convey our feelings with honesty, truth, love, dignity and respect. The beauty and miracle of it all was for the very first time (ever)- we were able to hold and maintain a space of kindness, compassion, empathy and understanding for one another. If that isn’t a miracle, I don’t know what is!

My question for you is: What is it you need to let go of and can you see how you are holding onto something that no longer serves you?…

A few weeks ago a good friend/mentor of mine gave me this beautiful reminder. Just before the sun came up this morning, I re-read it and was reminded of the power of letting go. I want to share it with all of you. It is my sincere hope that whatever you’re going through, whatever you’re holding onto, you will find the courage to let it go once and for all.

With Love & Light,

Namaste
Alana

Letting Go

Letting go does not mean to stop caring;
it means I can’t do it for someone else.

Letting go is not to cut myself off;
it’s the realization I can’t control another.

Letting go is not to enable;
but to allow learning from natural consequences.

Letting go is to admit powerlessness;
which means the outcome is not in my hands.

Letting go is not to try to change or blame another;
it’s to make the most of myself.

Letting go is not to care for, but to care about.

Letting go is not to fix, but to be supportive.

It’s not to judge but to allow another to be a human being.

Letting go is not to be in the middle arranging the outcome;
but to allow others to affect their own destinies.

Letting go is not to be protective;
it’s to permit another to face reality.

Letting go is not to nag, scold, or argue;
but instead to search out my own shortcomings and correct them.

Letting go is not to adjust everything to my own desires;
but to take each day as it comes and cherish myself in it.

Letting go is not to criticize and regulate anybody;
but to become what I dream I can be.

Letting go is not to regret the past;
but to grow and live for the future.

Letting go is to fear less and live more.

Leave a Reply

